Bunny Cake Pops – Happy Easter!

Happy Easter!  I wanted to make something special for the arrival of my niece and her first Easter.  I thought pink bunny cake pops would be perfect and even though she won’t be able to eat them, her Mommy really likes cake pops!

This is only my second time making cake pops and they sure take patience.  I am still totally intrigued with the concept, so I will keep practicing until I can master this art form.

The last time I made cake pops, I thought they looked super cute, but I honestly thought they were too sweet.  I KNOW!  Too sweet, is there such a thing?  I think I know exactly what made them too sweet for my liking.  The cake balls were made by mixing icing with crumbled cake.  This time I invested in a cake pop maker which bakes batter into balls.  Now, there is no need for icing to bind the cake together.

To decorate, I was inspired by Bakerella’s Cake Pop book.  I used white mint flavored melting chocolate to coat the chocolate cake balls.   Once the chocolate set and cooled, I decorated using confetti sprinkles for the eyes and nose.  Using a toothpick, apply a small dab of melted chocolate to the back of the sprinkle and hold in place.  Once they cool, I used Betty Crocker Easy Writers to color the eyes and paint the bunny mouth.  For the bunny ears, use pastel candy corns.  Cut the pointed tip of the candy corn off, apply a dab of melted chocolate and place on the head holding it in place for a few seconds until the chocolate sets.

Once they were decorated, I placed them in clear mini treat bag and tied them with pastel ribbons.  Oh…but I had to do a taste test and tried one…or two.  I thought they tasted much better than my first trial of cake pops.  A sweet treat, but not too sweet!  I really enjoyed the combination of the chocolate cake ball and white mint chocolate, they tasted just like a peppermint patty.  I really love my cake pop maker!

I took them to the hospital in a little pink Easter Basket to meet my niece!

3 responses

  1. I loved these cake pops! Thanks so much for bringing them to us in the hospital for Easter – they were adorable and delicious!!! 🙂

  2. That’s quite a device… I’ve never even heard of that before!

Leave a Reply

