My Meatloaf Muffins

Score…3 points for Mom last night!  This is one of my favorite recipes to get three children (5, 3 and 1) to eat dinner without complaint!

This is my improved version of an old meatloaf recipe, but now chocked full of goodness with rolled oats and veggies to keep it moist.  Ha!  Without the kids knowing, my husband and I used to fight over who got the end bits when I would make this meatloaf in a loaf pan.  The perfect solution was to bake it in a muffin pan because each “muffin” has the tasty goodness of the end slices of a loaf.  Plus the kids get a kick out of eating muffins for dinner too!

Oats and Veggie Meatloaf

My Meatloaf Muffins

1 lb ground beef (or ground turkey)

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp ground black pepper

1/2 C chopped onion

1/2 C chopped bell pepper

2-3 small carrots (peeled and shredded)

1 egg, lightly beaten

8 oz. canned diced tomatoes with juice

1/2 C rolled oats

Topping

1/3 C ketchup

2 TB brown sugar

1 TB mustard

Mix all meatloaf ingredients together, divide evenly and press into a 12 count muffin tin.  Mix the topping ingredients and spoon approximately 1 tablespoon full over the top of each muffin.  Bake in a 350° oven for 25 minutes until the meat is fully cooked through.

Hope you and your family enjoys!  Let me know what you think?

6 responses

  1. This is genius!! I’m getting beef out of my freezer. Because I’m trying this tonight!! 🙂

    Bonnie
    http://www.recipeshappen.com
    http://www.facebook.com/recipeshappen

    1. Excellent…Let me know how they turn out!

  2. By the way! Even though I don’t live with my parents anymore (I’m married), my mom and I also “fight” over who gets the end pieces of meatloaf!

    Also, to the shock of others, we’d always argue about getting the crust of a fresh, warm loaf of bread. 🙂

  3. […] ideas other people have and making them my own.  I found my meatloaf muffin idea here.  This blog mentioned how great the ends of meatloaf are, and this way of making meatloaf is […]

  4. These sound really tasty 🙂

Leave a Reply

