Healthy Microwave Popcorn

It’s Friday, and it is movie night in our house.  What is the best treat to complete the whole movie experience?  Popcorn!

I usually had pre-packaged microwave popcorn in my pantry.  Recently, I heard something about the possible harm from chemicals used in the butter flavoring and anyways….I am on my quest to try to eliminate (or minimize) processed foods when I can in my house.  Did you know that you can easily make a homemade version of microwave popcorn?  All you need is popping corn and a brown paper lunch bag.

Why I love this?  It is WAY cheaper and WAY healthier because I can control my toppings.  The fun part is trying different flavors to coat the popcorn!

Funny story – my kids freaked out that the popcorn was white and not yellow like they were used to.  <cringe!!>  Now does that tell you that there might be something wrong with the processed version?

To pop your corn:

Use 1/4 C popping corn and place in a brown paper bag.  Fold the paper bag at the top and adhere with a piece of tape.  Place flat in the microwave for 3 minutes, stopping when there are 2-3 seconds in between pops.  Once done, carefully dump the popcorn in a bowl or a pan and get the toppings ready.

Topping Ideas:

The key is getting the toppings to stick to the popcorn.  For butter flavor, I melt only 1 TB of butter and lightly drizzle it over the popcorn.  Toss the popcorn to distribute the topping.  Add a shake or two of salt, grated parmesan cheese a small pinch of red pepper for some spice.

Forget the butter!  My kids enjoyed a yummy afternoon snack when I drizzled the melted combination of 1 TB of peanut butter and 1 teaspoon of hazelnut spread over the popcorn (pictured above).  Such a small amount when a long way to make a satisfying afternoon snack for 3 kids.

What are you favorite toppings?  I am always looking for new ideas!

I guess I expected that microwave popcorn needed the metal bag and extra ingredients in order for it to cook that way.  I hope this has enlightened at least one of my viewers out there.

Leave a Reply

