Salmon Cakes

Adding fish in our diets has proven to be very healthy and I have made it a point of making a fish dinner at least once a week.  Usually my choice fish is salmon and my kids love it.  My three-year old, likes the fact that it is pink…but I think my kids like the texture.  I found an inspiring recipe for Salmon Cakes that reminds me of the crab cakes that I had when I was in Baltimore.  I just knew that the kids would love it….and they do!  Salmon Cakes make a perfect main course, but also would make a tasty appetizer.

Yields about 10 salmon cakes

3/4 lbs salmon filet

1 tsp. extra virgin olive oil

S&P to taste

3/4 C dried bread crumbs

2/3 C shredded cheddar cheese

2/3 C frozen corn kernels

1/4 C mayonnaise

1 egg, slightly beaten

1-2 TB canola oil

To cook salmon:  I prefer to buy my filet of salmon and either broil or grill it skin side down, by rubbing the surface with extra virgin olive oil and sprinkle a little salt and pepper over the top.  It usually cooks in about 10 minutes, once the fish “flakes” and pulls easily apart.  While it is still warm, I flake all of the meat away from the skin ensuring that there are no bones.

While the salmon is cooking, measure the bread crumbs, cheddar cheese, corn, mayo and egg in a large mixing bowl.  Add the flaked salmon and mix all ingredients together until they start to bind.  Make the patties by flattening them in the palm of your hand, they should be about 2 inches in diameter.

Heat half of the canola oil in a large fry pan.  Place the salmon cakes in the pan and cook for about 5 minutes, until the bottom is golden brown.  Flip the salmon cake and add the remaining oil to the pan, cook another 3-4 minutes until golden brown.

Leave a Reply

