Leftover Ham Hock and Pea Soup

Hope everyone had a wonderful holiday and Happy New Year!  This was one of the first recipes that I tried with my Christmas gift – a food processor.  I had a mini prep machine and used it all of the time to chop smaller items.  But, I figured with all that I am cooking, I could really benefit from a food processor.  I am loving it!!

For the holidays I picked up a spiral ham at my local grocery store for our Christmas Eve dinner.  I am glad it dawned on me to save the bone once I cut the meat off of the Ham.  What a tasty soup it made….Ham and Pea Soup!  Even the kids liked it…though they needed a little coaxing to try it, probably because it is not one of the prettiest soups they have seen.  But my, was it yummy and quick to make!!

Ham and Pea Soup

Ham and Pea Soup

5 carrots, sliced

2 stalks of celery

2 leeks (remove greens and root base, slice down the middle, rinse to remove sand, then finely chop)

1 onion, chopped

2 TB olive oil

7 cups of water

1 teaspoon chicken soup base (optional)

1 -16 ounce bag of split peas, rinsed

left over ham bone with some meat attached

2 cups ham, diced

salt and pepper to taste

Heat oil in a large pot and add the carrots, celery, leeks and onion.  Sautee until softened, about 8 minutes.  Add water, chicken soup base, split peas and ham bone.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 35 minutes.  Remove the ham bone and trim meat off and reserve.

Puree about half of the soup in a blender or use an immersion blender to puree to your liking.  (I prefer some chunky vegetable left in the soup).

Stir in diced ham.  Salt and Pepper to taste, if needed.

Leftover Ham Hock and Pea Soup

Why not freeze some ham and pea soup for a cold snowy day!?

One response

  1. Nice. That’s the way it always looks. 🙂
    I made the mistake of using the drippings from the baked ham once… whoa, was that salty.
    Happy 2013!

Leave a Reply

