Wild Salmon En Croute

“En Croute” indicates food that is wrapped in pastry dough.   You can make a visually beautiful dinner even on a week night!

Today, I was inspired by a recipe in Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution Cookbook, but I added a slightly different twist.  Best thing was that I had all of the ingredients on hand in my fridge, freezer and pantry.  I try to keep a package of frozen puff pastry on hand because I never know when I might need it…and I am stocked up on a filets of salmon.  My family and I are doing good at eating a fish dinner at least once a week because of the health benefits and my kids LOVE it!  I personally prefer wild salmon because of the taste and texture.  I topped the salmon with basil pesto, slices of fresh campari tomatoes, and slices of mozzarella.  This was a very eye appealing, fast, fun and easy dinner – yummo!

Wild Salmon En Croute

Wild Salmon En Croute

2 sheets of puff pastry

large filet of salmon

2 or 3 TB basil pesto

slices of 2 large tomatoes or 4 small tomatoes

2-3 ounces of mozzarella cheese, sliced

1 egg, beaten

Preheat oven to 400°.

Dust counter surface and rolling pin with flour.  Place two sheets of puff pastry, one on top of the other, roll dough until same size of a cookie sheet.  Lay dough on top of a cookie sheet dusted with flour.  Lightly drizzle olive oil on salmon filet to coat the surface  and place the filet in the center of the dough.  Generously spread the basil pesto over the top of the filet.  Layer the tomato slices down the center of the filet and fill in with the mozzarella cheese.  Roll the dough around the edges of salmon filet.  Brush the egg on the edges of the pastry dough.

Place salmon on the lowest rack of your oven with an empty cookie on the rack above to sheild the heat.  Bake for 35 minutes until the salmon is done and the pastry is puffed and golden brown.

Leave a Reply

