Springy Asparagus Soup

Happy Spring!  Well at least we finally had some sign of spring for a few days and now have drifted back to a touch of winter.  But it sure makes me happy to see my garden has started to show a sign of spring because the asparagus is just starting to pop out of the ground.  I am hoping to get a decent harvest finally this year, since it takes are few years to produce.  Asparagus is my favorite vegetable and aside from the bulbs blooming, that is probably my favorite part about this time of year.  Plus, finally good bunches of asparagus are available in the grocery store.  So until I can harvest them myself…

Asparagus Bunch

This asparagus soup recipe was in my local newspaper and I can honestly say I never had this type of soup before.  It was perfect comfort food to make for the rainy and chilly temps that arrived and reminds me that warmer temps are on the way!

Plus, I enhanced it to make it a healthier creamy soup.  It was so easy and quite yummy!

Asparagus Soup

Asparagus Soup

2 lbs. asparagus, woody ends trimmed, reserve 8 spear tips

1 chopped onion

2 stalks of celery, chopped

1 carrot, chopped

1 clove of garlic

3 TB olive oil

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

5 cups reduced sodium chicken broth

1/2 cup plain yogurt

Kitchen tip:  I like to control sodium by using chicken soup base because I can add more water and reduce the measurement of the base.  Use 5 cups of water and 3 teaspoons chicken soup base.  I think the flavor is still good.

It a heavy stockpot, add olive oil and sautee onion, celery, carrot.  Cook for 3 minutes, then add garlic, salt and pepper.  Add asparagus and cook for 5 more minutes.  Add chicken stock and simmer for 20 minutes.  Blanch the reserved asparagus tips in water for 3 minutes.  Once the soup is done simmering, use an immersion blender or puree the soup in batches in a blender.  Return the soup to the pot and stir in the plain yogurt.

Garnish with the asparagus tips.

Leave a Reply

