Zucchini Oatmeal Cookies

Tomorrow is going to be filled with a lot of “firsts”!  My oldest daughter is starting first grade.  For me, it is the first time that she will be away from me all day and it will be a first that I have to pack a healthy lunch for her.  So I want it to be a special one!  It is also the first time I added zucchini to a cookie recipe.

Zucchini Oatmeal Cookies Sweet Stackers

I love zucchini bread, so why not add zucchini to a cookie recipe?  This recipe is perfect because there were a couple of zucchini sitting on my countertop that I just picked yesterday and all of the other ingredients in my pantry.

Zucchini Oatmeal batter

Don’t know what to do with all of the zucchini from your garden?  Try this recipe!

Zucchini Oatmeal Cookies

1 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup shredded zucchini
2 cups old fashioned oats
1/2 cup raisins
3/4 cup dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350°.

With an electric mixer, add cooled melted butter and sugars until well combined.  Add the egg, vanilla extract and zucchini to the mixture.  At low speed, combine the flour, baking soda and salt.  Then gradually add the oats, raisins and chocolate chips.

Place a spoonful of dough, two inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake for 10-12 minutes until the edges are lightly browned.  Cool on a wire rack.

SweetStackers - Zucchini Oatmeal Cookies

These cookies produced a chewy oatmeal cookie with melty chocolate chips on top.  SweetStackers are the solution to separate and layer your cookies without them sticking together in a container.  Visit sweetstackers.com to learn more about SweetStackers!  Mmm…I might just make another batch and freeze them like this!

2 responses

  1. I’d have never thought to put zucchini with oatmeal but they look good.

  2. These cookies sound like a really great combination of flavors! I bet the zucchini works really well with the oatmeal.

Leave a Reply

