The Best Roast Chicken – Ever!

Such a cold dreary fall day and some comfort food is needed to break the mood.

A Roasted Chicken can be made a bunch of different ways and I find that there can be some strong opinions out there as to which way is the best.  But, I have made chicken a few different ways and I think this one is the best, hands down!

This idea from this recipe came from Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution Cookbook.  The key ingredient that I now swear by…is the whole lemon.  It not only makes my chicken look absolutely gorgeous, it gives it great flavor and makes the house smell wonderful.

IMG_3014

Here’s what I do…

Preheat oven to 400°.

Chop 2 medium-sized yellow onions into quarters and place in the middle of a shallow roast pan.  This becomes a “rack” for the chicken to sit on.

Take one lemon and pierce it several times with a knife.  Place it in the microwave for 40 seconds.  (already smells good…)

Place the lemon and a bunch of fresh thyme inside the cavity of the chicken.  (thyme + chicken = yum)

Rub the chicken with olive oil and salt and pepper the surface.  I like to use coarse sea salt for my roasts (if you have it).

Sit the chicken on the onions.  If I am roasting other veggies like carrots and potatoes, I place them around the chicken.

That’s it!  Place it in the oven and roast.  A 3 ½ to 4 pound chicken should take 2 to 2 ¼ hours, but test for doneness.

What is your favorite way to roast chicken?

Leave a Reply

