Chocolate Log Cookies

Today, I am excited to announce that I have a guest baker – my Mom! (not a guest blogger, but a guest baker) She is a very good baker and has inspired me since I was a little girl. Probably why I love baking at Christmas time so much! It brings back memories and annual cravings.

My grandmother would bake these cookies every year and they were always my favorite. (note: my husband says that I have a lot of favorites) But seriously, my favorite! When I was little, the best part of these cookies were the icing on each end. I have my own little ritual as to how I have to eat them (just like twisting an Oreo cookie to get to the creamy center). Since my grandmother doesn’t bake anymore, my Mom knows that she now has to make these cookies. Love the fact that she used her Sweet Stackers too!!  Thanks Mom, your the best!!

Sweet Stackers Christmas Dessert Dividers

Chocolate Log Cookies

  • 1/3 cup hot water added slowly to 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 cup (1/2 pound) butter
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3 cups sifted all purpose flour

In a small mixing bowl, add hot water slowly to cocoa, mix well and let cool.  Cream butter thoroughly about 1 minute; add sugar gradually and beat well.  Add egg yolks, 1 at a time, and continue beating until light, about 2 minutes.  Add vanilla and cool cocoa mixture.  Add combined baking soda and flour, a little at a time, to form dough.  My Grandmother and Mom would make a ball and form it into a log, then press it with a fork to flatten slightly.

Bake 350° for 12 – 13 minutes.  Cool on a rack.  When cold, brush top with warm corn syrup.  Once the glaze sets, cover both ends of cookies with Chocolate Frosting (recipe below) and finely chopped pecans.

Chocolate Frosting

Add 3 tablespoons hot water to 3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa.  Mix until smooth; add 2 tablespoons of very soft butter, 1 tablespoon milk, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla.  Stir until smooth.  Add sifted 2 1/2 – 3 cups of confectioners sugar gradually to form a medium-soft frosting that will not run.

Sweet Stackers - Chocolate Log Cookies

Hope you enjoyed the recipe!  Merry Christmas to you!

Sweet Stackers Christmas Cookie Trays

Leave a Reply

