Green & Chick Pea Hummus

…and for the The Triscuit Summer Snackoff – Challenge 2!  Triscuit – check!  Peas – check! and at least one other ingredient – check!

This time I am even more determined that it would be great to meet Martha Stewart!

My inspiration for this recipe came to me as I was making a batch of homemade hummus.  I actually get cravings for hummus!  It wasn’t until I started working after college that I was enlightened about a little family owned mediterranean restaurant in my neighborhood.  I remember having hummus for the first time and I will admit that I was not impressed.  But I loved the rest of the food and after trying hummus a few more times, I became addicted.  It is a great healthy snack – and yes, I do crave it!  Always wondered if I am the only one?

I’ll be honest…this is totally my creation, I didn’t even check the web to see if there were recipes already like this!  So here is a basic hummus recipe with the addition of green peas!  The green peas sweetened and “freshened” the hummus.  Traditional hummus does not have the most eye-appealing color, so the bright green from the green peas really made for a beautiful presentation!

Green Chick Pea Hummus

Green & Chick Pea Hummus

1 large clove garlic

1 – 15 ounce can of chick peas

½ cup frozen green peas; thawed

¼ cup tahini (sesame paste)

¼ cup lemon juice

¼ cup extra virgin olive oil

In a food processor, add garlic clove to mince.  Add remaining ingredients, one at a time while blending.  If the mixture is too thick, gradually add up to 1/4 cup of water until you reach a preferred consistency.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

