Healthy Egg Breakfast Casserole

Last night, I had guests stay the night and needed a quick breakfast to serve in the morning before they headed out.   In the afternoon I quickly whipped up this recipe and placed it in the refrigerator until morning.  There are a ton of breakfast casserole recipes out there, but I combined a few recipes and made it healthier.  I used chicken sausage links instead of pork sausage, added a veggie using sweet red peppers, cut the number of eggs and instead of using half-n-half or cream, substituted the combination of milk and plain yogurt.

Plus I used leftover bread and crusts for this recipe which I described in a prior post French Toast Casserole using Leftover Bread.  I have been freezing leftover bread by cutting the crusts off of my kids sandwiches and saving the end slices of bread.

It turned out delicious!

Healthy Breakfast Casserole

Healthy Egg Breakfast Casserole

1 lb. chicken sausage, diced and browned

1 1/4 C shredded cheese (cheddar, mozzarella)

1/2  C sweet red pepper, diced

8 eggs

1 C milk

1 C plain yogurt

6-8 slices of bread, cubed   note: I used my frozen leftover bread crusts

Layer the bread cubes, chicken sausage, red pepper and cheese in a 9 x 13 baking dish.  Lightly beat the eggs, milk and yogurt until combined and pour the mixture over the bread.  Cover and refrigerate overnight.

Bake 350° for 45 minutes until an inserted knife comes out clean.

Leave a comment