Pancakes made from scratch

Healthier Pancakes

Here’s one of those easy recipes that you can make from scratch in a pinch….no need to buy ready-made pancake mix!  It is easy, quick and has whole wheat flour and cornmeal which are both whole grains.  This recipe is great by itself, but to change it up (as we do every weekend) and add extra nutrients, I add different fruit…bananas, blueberries, strawberries, peaches and even canned pumpkin.   Depending on the fruit, you can mash it or chop it into small chunks.  For an extra special treat, add a small amount of chocolate chips to each pancake…we drop about 5 chips on top after the batter is poured on the griddle.  The kids are super happy about that!

1 C all-purpose flour

1/2 C whole wheat flour

1/4 C cornmeal

1 TB baking powder

1 1/2 C milk

2 large eggs

2 TB brown sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 C to 3/4 C fruit – optional

Here’s a tip – I measure out 3/4 C canned 100% pure pumpkin for this recipe.  With the remaining pumpkin, I measure the rest in 3/4 C increments and place in small freezer bags laying flat in the freezer.  Next time you make pancakes, a bag of pumpkin will thaw quickly in water as you are preparing the other ingredients.

4 responses

  1. And? Do you use the pumpkin in place of something, or just add it to the listed ingredients? Thanks for the freezer tip. I seem to always use 1/2 can puree and the rest goes bad. : )

    1. I use the 3/4 C pumpkin in place of fruit. You can make this recipe with all of the ingredients up to the vanilla extract or you can add fruit/pumpkin which is optional.

  2. […] We had a few small sugar or pie pumpkins leftover from Halloween decor.  I finally decided to use them for my cooking and baking.  It is so easy, but the hardest part is cutting the pumpkin.  I roasted the pumpkin by cutting them in half, scooping out the stringy pulp and seeds and then laying them cut side down in a low roasting pan with a 1/4″ of water on the bottom of the pan.  I baked in a 400° for one hour.  I now have enough roasted pumpkin for soup and two pies, plus some that I will freeze for my pumpkin pancakes. […]

  3. […] as if I am not going to find pumpkin until next fall.  I love cooking and baking with it….pumpkin pancakes, pumpkin pie to pumpkin soup, oh […]

Leave a comment