Homemade Granola Bars

Always looking for healthy snacks that you can take on the go?  Of course you can purchase granola bars at the grocery store, but the ones my kids like are not really a healthy snack and they make me more hungry after eating just one.  Some of the healthier versions are difficult to bite and chew, plus pretty pricey.  So I thought I would try to make my own.  I had all of the ingredients in my pantry, they were easy and my 3-year-old had a lot of fun measuring and mixing the ingredients.  This recipe turned out perfectly delicious for both kids and adults alike!

Mmmmm!  Chewy, with lots of flavor and texture and I know I was fully satisfied with eating only one bar.

Kid-friendly Granola Bar Snack

Homemade Granola Bars (yields 18 bars)

2 cups old-fashioned oats

3/4 cup wheat germ

3/4 cup walnuts (chopped)

1/2  cup dried cranberries (substitute any dried fruit)

1/4 cup mini chocolate chips (optional)

2 tablespoons brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

2 egg whites

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup real maple syrup (or substitute with another 1/4 cup of honey to make a 1/2 cup)

1/2 cup canola oil

Preheat oven at 350°.

Mix all dry ingredients in a large bowl.  Combine egg whites, honey, maple syrup and oil in a medium size bowl.  Fold the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients.

Line a 9×13 inch pan with foil or parchment paper.  Lightly oil the pan so the bars will not stick and can be removed easily.  Press the mixture evenly into the pan.

Bake for 30-35 minutes until lightly browned.

Cool in pan for 1 to 2 hours.  Remove from pan and cut into bars.  I divided by cutting down the center lengthwise and then cut approximately 1 inch bars from the two halves.

2 responses

  1. I love me a good granola bar too, thanks for the recipe!

  2. Kentuckylady717 | Reply

    Thanks for posting this recipe….will for sure be making this…..

Leave a comment