Owl Sugar Cookies – Look wHoo’s 2!

Look wHoo’s 2!!

This is my first of two posts for the preparation for my daughter’s second birthday party.  My happy little girl has a fascination with owls.  She recognizes and finds them everywhere.  At her age, you would think she would throw them in the general “bird” category, but for some reason she definitely distinguishes owls as “Owls”.  So I am going with the thought that she really likes owls and I am glad that they are so popular now.  Target has a whole line of bedding with the famous bird, she spots them on kids clothes and books and we saw tons of owl paraphernalia for Valentine’s Day.  She gets so excited about them….so what a perfect theme for her second birthday!!

Birthday Girl Owl Cookies

In advance, I worked on these owl shaped sugar cookies.  Pulling out the orange and brown color because of the birthday napkins that I found for the birthday girl.  While the cookies were cooling I worked on making homemade candy eyes.

The eyes were made by piping white melting chocolate dots on wax paper.  After making about six dots, place a mini chocolate chip in the center and let the chocolates set.  They are imperfect, but they have the homemade touch and they certainly taste yummy!  Much better than paying $6 for eye-shaped decorator candies that don’t have flavor.

Owl Candy Eyes

To decorate the cookies, I used orange-colored royal icing as the base color and applied the eyes while they were still wet.  After the orange royal icing hardened, I made chocolate royal icing for the wings.  The only difference with the royal icing is from adding 1 teaspoon of Hersey’s cocoa (unsweetened).  The confectioner’s sugar does the sweetening!   For the final touch, a small batch of yellow royal icing for the beak and feet.

My little girls was so surprised at all of the owls and she ate quite a few cookies on her special day!

5 responses

  1. Great job! The owls look fantastic.

  2. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this write-up plus the rest of the site is really good.

  3. […] be quite fun and my little girl is still enjoying her decorations.  A few days ago I posted the owl cookies that were made for the birthday party.  This post contains how to make this owl cake and some […]

  4. […] party, we did an owl painting activity with my kids and niece.  Check out my prior posts for the owl cookies and owl cake that were made to celebrate this birthday and read on to see how we made the owl […]

Leave a comment