Kolacky – Czech Cookies

The holidays are among us and let the baking begin!

According to Wikipedia:  “Kolache (also spelled kolace, kolach, or kolacky, from the Czech and Slovak plural koláče, sg. koláč) is a type of pastry that holds a dollop of fruit rimmed by a puffy pillow of supple dough.”

Kolacky are my favorite baked treat because the filling comes in so many fruit flavors, poppy seed and even cheese.  My Mom makes them for any holiday and I am carrying on the tradition.   They are really the perfect dessert after a huge dinner because they are tiny like a cookie.  I made these for a Christmas event at my church and I will be making another batch for Christmas.

Kolaches

Raspberry and Apricot Kolacky

This recipe can be made ahead of time and they freeze well, but because of the jelled filling they can not be stacked on top of each other.  That lead me to design a new product called Sweet Stackers – Stackable Food Storage System.  Sweet Stackers are stackable trays that fit inside a typical 3″ deep container.  They will separate your food items in two or three layers depending on the size of your food.  Perfect for Kolacky or any food that you can not stack!

Kolacky Recipe

1 1/2 C sifted all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 C butter, softened

1 – 8 ounce cream cheese, softened

1 tablespoon milk

1 tablespoon sugar

1 egg yolk, beaten

various pie and pastry fillings (I used Solo brand, apricot and raspberry pie and pastry filling for this batch)

Sift the flour and baking powder together.  With an electric mixer, cream butter, cream cheese, milk and sugar.  Add the egg yolk, then gradually add the flour mixture.  Once the dough comes together, wrap the dough in plastic wrap and chill for several hours in the refrigerator.  I usually chill the dough overnight.

Preheat oven to 400°.  Divide the dough in half and leave the remaining half in the refrigerator until you are ready to work with it.  (note: work with this dough quickly and keep any dough that you are not using chilled).  Flour your rolling pin and work surface extremely good and keep it well floured once you are working the dough.  Roll the dough until about 1/8″ – 1/4″ thick.  Cut round pieces with a floured 2″ round cookie cutter or edge of a juice glass.

kolaches dough

Dough is chilled, rolled and ready to cut

Place on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Make a depression with your thumb gently in the center of each piece and place a dollop of filling into the center.  Bake for 10-12 minutes until lightly browned.

kolaches cut and filled

Kolacky are ready to bake!

Hope you enjoy them!

9 responses

  1. […] eastern European countries also make them or something similar.  Check out my post to view the recipe…my recipe produces a moist kolacky dough because it uses a handful of ingredients including […]

  2. I’ve been wanting good kolachy recipe – this might be perfect. Thanks!

    1. This really is a great recipe. The cream cheese makes them moist…not dry like some traditional recipes. Let me know if you try them!

  3. Colleen, these look so yummy. How wonderful of you to continue the tradition!

  4. […] Click to get my PartyKitchen Kolacky Recipe […]

  5. This recipe is very similar to my husband’s grandmother’s recipe that I make each year for the holidays! I just found the raspberry Solo filling for the first time – I usually use apricot, almond, poppyseed, and prune, though it’s getting harder and harder for me to find the Solo fillings here in Portland!

    1. I understand! We actually just moved to Raleigh and I haven’t found it in my local grocery store here. I can’t wait to make some for the holidays!

Leave a comment